Two new members appointed to Royal Schiphol Group's Supervisory Board


Medy van der Laan and Chris Figee have been appointed to the Supervisory Board of Royal Schiphol Group. Royal Schiphol Group shareholders voted on this during the shareholder meeting on 11 April. Both board members have been appointed for a period of four years.

Medy van der Laan

Medy van der Laan 
Medy van der Laan is chair of The Dutch Banking Association. She was previously chair of Energie-Nederland, the association of Dutch energy companies, and she has held various administrative and supervisory positions, including State Secretary. Van der Laan is currently also chair of research foundation Stichting Nationaal Luister Onderzoek, chair of foundation Berenschot Beheer and chair of the supervisory board of the International Architecture Biennale Rotterdam. Furthermore, she is involved in the management of Dutch employer's federation VNO-NCW and member of the Social and Economic Council. 

With her extensive experience within and outside of the public sector, along with issues concerning sustainability and energy transition, Van der Laan is a valuable addition to Royal Schiphol Group's Supervisory Board. She is filling a vacant position.

Chris Figee

Chris Figee 
Chris Figee is CFO and member of the Management Board at KPN. He was previously CFO and member of the Management Board at insurance company a.s.r verzekeringen. Figee has a great deal of experience in the financial sector and has worked for various organisations. He is a member of Economic Board Zuid-Holland and of the supervisory boards of Azerion and UNICEF Netherlands. 

Figee's experience in financial environments, strategy and operational processes will add value to his role on the Supervisory Board of Royal Schiphol Group. He will succeed Robert Jan van de Kraats as chair of the Audit Committee next year. After two four-year terms, Van de Kraats has been reappointed for a period of one year to ensure a smooth handover.

On 11 April, after two terms on the Supervisory Board, Mikael Olsson stepped down from his position. The Supervisory Board is looking for a successor.